Skip to content

When Did Your Team Last Win A Trophy?

Premier League 2023/24

Selected Others

We’d all like our football team to win more trophies, but then we’d have nothing to moan about on the terraces and down the pub. That said, it’s always fun taking the mickey out of your mates, whose side wins very little, despite how ‘mouthy’ they are about their football teams success.

So, here is your chance to share the page of their football team, which shows a count-up clock since they last won a trophy. Have fun, rub it in their face and remember… it’s all a bit of fun.

The History Of English Football Competitions

The Footall League

The Premier League is relatively new in being the top tier of English Football, following on from the 1st Division of the English Football League, which is now the second tier.

The original Football League was created on 17 April and the first season of the Football League began a few months later on 8 September.

This league comprised 12  clubs from the Midlands and North of England:

Accrington, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Bolton Wanderers, Burnley, Derby County, Everton, Notts County, Preston North End, Stoke, West Bromwich Albion and Wolverhampton Wanderers.

The Premier League

The Premier League was formed to help maximise the finances of the elite football clubs in England.

The first season was 1992–93, composed of 22 clubs:

Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Everton, Ipswich Town, Leeds United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, and Wimbledon.

FA Cup

The first ever FA Cup tournament kicked off in 1871, with 13 games, leading to Wanderers, an English amateur football club based in London, becoming the winners on 16 March 1872.

The modern version of the FA Cup was established by the 1888–89 season, when qualifying rounds were also introduced.

Clubs competed on a regional basis until only one was left for the Fourth Qualifying Round.

That same season, non-league Warwick County beat First Division Stoke, the original giant killing.

The club to have won the FA Cup the most, is Arsenal, with 13 wins.

League Cup

The League Cup tends to change its name depending on the sponsor (currently Carabao).

The cup competition was first held in 1960–61 as the Football League Cup and is one of the three top-tier domestic football competitions in England.

The team that has won the League Cup the most is Liverpool, with eight wins.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter